Farro generally taken up as part of a healthy diet by gluten conscious people, stands for different types of wheat, including spelt and ancient forms of grain like Einkorn and emmer. Belonging from the wheat family, you can’t call Farro to be gluten-free, which contains a plenty amount undoubtedly.
In most cases, the confusion stems out from the term itself. Did you ever find it to be mentioned as “wheat”? Never for sure, right?
Farro is a healthy grain that merely sacrifices its beneficiary value and threatens the stake of those affected by celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.
Renowned health food stores have adapted farro in prepared dishes increasingly these days without a single tag of wheat content. In that case, one needs to be well informed about the grain’s true nature.
If you have a look at farro grains, brown rice is the word that will come to your mind firstly. One would have never discovered any connection to wheat, henceforth. There comes the purpose behind the statement, “prevention is always better than cure”.
Also Read : Are Oreos Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Oreo Cookies?
What is Farro all about?
Farro being a form of wheat though, is not used to make conventional bread, flour, and baked products. It forms heavier, dense brown flour rather than the one produced from modern wheat.
Flipping through the coinage of the term, “farro” is attributed to Italian origin related to the older wheat species of Einkorn (farro piccolo) and emmer (farro medio). Wheat is spelt as farro grande. The variations in the name indicates the different sizes it possesses.
Wheat nowadays is highly hybridized or cross-bred for specifically designed traits.which has amounted to a hike in the level of gluten content consequently. The plants have turned shorter, browner and more prolific in the generic transformation.
On the other hand, farro has remained the same without any remarkable modification, safe for a healthy retreat anytime you feel like!
Farro can be steamed or boiled and put in salads, soups, and vegetable dishes. Italian and other southern European cuisines remind us of handful farro in this regard.
Is it necessarily Safe to consume Einkorn?
Scientific studies throughout the years have studied that gluten in ancient grains like Einkorn bears the risk of causing villous atrophy among those with celiac disease.
The must-known facts
Farro can mislead you at times. Wild rice blends are one of them that you need to be careful about. Considered to be both trendy and healthy, farro is widely used by chefs in restaurants and delis in common dishes.
Hence, always pay due attention to your food beforehand so that you don’t fall prey to the unexpected tricks of obvious situations.